Professional Contributions Award

MACCA Leaders

(Nominations for this award are made by and voted upon by ALL members)

This is awarded to a MACCA member to recognize excellence and significant contributions to the career development field through leadership activities, innovative programming, or contributing articles/books. Past recipients have included Fulbright Scholars, noteworthy authors, and accomplished leaders in the field of career development.

2021 Recipient ~ Karen Chopra

Karen Chopra has been a career counselor in private practice for 20+ years. She is the founder of Chopra Careers, which has helped hundreds of clients with career exploration, job search and career management. In addition to her client work, Ms. Chopra regularly presents at professional conferences and has been interviewed for articles and podcasts, including by CNN, Money and NPR. An expert in workplace negotiations, she created the Certified Salary Negotiation Specialist (CSNS) credential with the Career Planning Academy. She is the author of the book Coaching Career Clients on Salary and Other Workplace Negotiations. Ms. Chopra developed the Integrative Career Counseling (ICC) framework to tackle mental health issues in the career context. The Maryland Career Development Association has honored her with their Outstanding Career Practitioner award and a Lifetime Achievement award.

"Karen is an experienced Career Counselor that has shared her expertise with MACCA, this year both presenting on salary negotiating and co-presenting on Networking. She holds credentials in the field as a LPC in the District of Columbia, CCC with NCDA and NCC with NBCC. She has a private practice where she helps clients find their career path. She also has published a book called The Savvy Career Counselor offering tips to those in the field to help clients with negotiations."

Previous Recipients

  • Jessica Campain & Jim Peacock (2020)
  • Nancy Fink (2019)
  • Rose Howard (2018)
  • Shahrzad Arasteh (2017)
  • Rowe Leathers (2016)
  • Kristen Carter (2015)
  • Paula Brand (2014)
  • Barry Davis (2013)
  • Karol Taylor & Janet Wall (2012)
  • Barry Davis (2011)
  • Peter Oscsodal (2010)
  • Joyce Henderson (2009)
  • Cristina Damiao (2008)
  • Joyce Henderson and Connie Egelman (2007)
  • Linda LeNoir (2006, 2005)
  • Cheryl Bonner (2004, 2003, 2002)
  • Marcia Merrill (2001)



       Copyright © 2018 MACCA  2600 Willow Street Pike North, PMB 253 Willow Street, PA 17584      


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software